Move Effect

You must understand the Game Editor concepts, before post here.

Move Effect

Postby Leif » Wed Dec 01, 2010 8:15 am

Guys, need help.

I'm working on "Move Effect processor".
The idea is:
- give objects in the game ability to be used in moving effects with different trajectories, changing transparency, tracing etc by one command with a number of parameters

How it is planned to be made:

- make .ged file, which is containing actor named "move_Effect", some variables and one procedure "MoveEffect";
- to use it, just merge this file to own game, then manually change several parameters in the body of procedure ( frame rate and size of data array ). Use with actor: create actor, make it inherit events from "move_Effect" actor.

Simpliest things ! But i crashed at v.1.0.... :cry:

Program works very unstable...or works incorrectly, or shows error message or makes GE abort ((

It blows my mind. Need help and explanations to improve my understanding.
Attachments
MoveEffect.rar
(185.94 KiB) Downloaded 123 times
Repulsor beam + heavy cannons
User avatar
Leif
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 12:42 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia
Score: 10 Give a positive score

Re: Move Effect

Postby skydereign » Wed Dec 01, 2010 9:06 am

I think I get what you are trying to do, but am not sure on your implementation... but, the main reason it crashes for me is that you are dividing by 0. There is another source for the crash, but I don't really have time to look into it right now.

The code is hard to look through, mainly because the variable names, and the arrays. I'd suggest using #defines so that reading the arrays is easier. I'm pretty busy right now, so I can't hunt through your code, but it would make it much easier if you clean it up a bit, and perhaps add some more comments.
User avatar
skydereign
 
Posts: 3510
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:29 am
Score: 589 Give a positive score

Re: Move Effect

Postby Leif » Wed Dec 01, 2010 9:31 am

Ok, thanks, I'll try to ...
Never used #define ...

I've deleted string with division by zero. GE aborts anyway after several launches
Repulsor beam + heavy cannons
User avatar
Leif
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 12:42 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia
Score: 10 Give a positive score

Re: Move Effect

Postby Leif » Wed Dec 01, 2010 2:07 pm

Here.

I used #define for clearness and delete part of the code.
It works, but still make GE to abort after several launches.

And - all the Move effects works only the first time. If press pacman more than one time - only the first effect works.
Attachments
MoveEffect_v2.rar
(185.28 KiB) Downloaded 124 times
Repulsor beam + heavy cannons
User avatar
Leif
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 12:42 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia
Score: 10 Give a positive score


Return to Advanced Topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron