iPhone 5 setting resolution for iOS device.

iPhone/iPod/iPad specific questions and discussion

Re: iPhone 5 setting resolution for iOS device.

Postby Behdadsoft » Sun Nov 17, 2013 9:52 am

OK, Thanks.
There is no possible way, if we found will make a way.

http://behdadsoft.com/
*******************************************************************
My Game : Star Wars 1.0

http://behdadgame.com/index.php?topic=3.0
User avatar
Behdadsoft
 
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 9:19 pm
Score: 2 Give a positive score

Re: iPhone 5 setting resolution for iOS device.

Postby MrScience101 » Sun Dec 01, 2013 11:11 pm

Have you or anyone else verified what a game made with the iphone 5 resolution looks like on an iphone 4/4s? Does it clip top and bottom, does it stretch? What does it do?
User avatar
MrScience101
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 9:52 pm
Score: 13 Give a positive score

Re: iPhone 5 setting resolution for iOS device.

Postby MrScience101 » Tue Dec 03, 2013 12:50 am

Thank you for making this work on the iphone 5. I was using the old geapp and it was stretching it and making it look weird and not work. This one works great.

Thanks again.
User avatar
MrScience101
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 9:52 pm
Score: 13 Give a positive score

Re: iPhone 5 setting resolution for iOS device.

Postby MrScience101 » Fri Dec 06, 2013 9:29 pm

MrScience101 wrote:Have you or anyone else verified what a game made with the iphone 5 resolution looks like on an iphone 4/4s? Does it clip top and bottom, does it stretch? What does it do?


I got my app approved, though I am not going to publish it to the store, because while it shows up perfectly fine on the iphone 5/5s/5c, on an ipad or iphone 4/4s it clips the top off of it and makes the touch out of sync with the screen. So I'll need to figure out how to resolve that.

*EDIT*
Solution:
In the project settings in xcode for the glviewkit window that is used, all I did was change the setting from 'AspectFill' to 'Top Left', now it works like I think it should, with only the bottom pixels being cut off. This way it works for Iphone 4 through Iphone 5s and on the Ipad. The resolution is of course limited to 320x640.

Now I just need to figure out how to make it for different resolutions, though I am not sure that is possible.
*EDIT*
Graphics solution: By opening the two XIB files in xcode, by control clicking and opening as code, and changing the resolution from 320x568 to 640x960 I can successfully get the graphics to be retina display graphics.

The problem now is that the clicks or rather 'touches' don't line up with the graphics. So now I need to figure out why when you touch the screen it still acts like a 320x480 screen instead of a 640x960 screen.

*EDIT*
Sequence101 is now live and free on the United States App Store. Thanks to all those who posted how to do it.
User avatar
MrScience101
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 9:52 pm
Score: 13 Give a positive score

Re: iPhone 5 setting resolution for iOS device.

Postby REDNSX » Fri Feb 07, 2014 8:48 am

Update on this.

apple will no longer accept xcode 4 projects.

They will only accept xcode 5 projects on ios7

Apple is such a pain. Just when you get it to work they say its no longer valid. :x
User avatar
REDNSX
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 3:03 am
Score: 7 Give a positive score

Re: iPhone 5 setting resolution for iOS device.

Postby REDNSX » Sat Feb 08, 2014 3:24 am

The good news is that if you have Chai GEapp working on xcode 4 all you need to do is download xcode 5 and it should work fine. All I did was get the latest version of xcode and open my project from xcode 4 and it worked. I just summit the new update using Xcode 5 and ios7. :D
User avatar
REDNSX
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 3:03 am
Score: 7 Give a positive score

Re: iPhone 5 setting resolution for iOS device.

Postby REDNSX » Sat Feb 08, 2014 11:25 am

Well actually I spoke to soon. I just notice that when you build on ios7 you get a green rectangle on the screen. that green rectangle looks like the battery icon but it takes up screen space and cuts off your view.

Chai have you notice this yet with when building with the new apple requirements?

If any one has the solution please post it.
User avatar
REDNSX
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 3:03 am
Score: 7 Give a positive score

Re: iPhone 5 setting resolution for iOS device.

Postby Silya » Sun Mar 30, 2014 12:33 pm

HI everyone! I'm trying to build my project on Xcode 5 and ios 7 and I have stuck on this error:
ld: warning: ignoring file /Users/...GEapp-chai/geapp/build/Release-iphoneos/libgeapp.a, file was built for archive which is not the architecture being linked (armv7s): /Users/romankordas/Desktop/GEapp-chai/geapp/build/Release-iphoneos/libgeapp.a
ld: entry point (_main) undefined. for architecture armv7s

Please help, is it mean that the old version of Geapp_Chai doesn't work with IOS 7 architecture?
Silya
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 4:29 pm
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Re: iPhone 5 setting resolution for iOS device.

Postby Behdadsoft » Fri Jun 13, 2014 3:52 pm

Hi.

I have 2 question before start make game.
1- with GEapp can I make a game for iPhone 5S?
2- if I make game for iPhone 5 with this resolution (568 * 320), can run it on iPhone 4?

Thanks
There is no possible way, if we found will make a way.

http://behdadsoft.com/
*******************************************************************
My Game : Star Wars 1.0

http://behdadgame.com/index.php?topic=3.0
User avatar
Behdadsoft
 
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 9:19 pm
Score: 2 Give a positive score

Re: iPhone 5 setting resolution for iOS device.

Postby Chai » Sat Jun 14, 2014 1:51 am

Behdadsoft wrote:Hi.

I have 2 question before start make game.
1- with GEapp can I make a game for iPhone 5S?
2- if I make game for iPhone 5 with this resolution (568 * 320), can run it on iPhone 4?

Thanks


As I tested I can run my game app on iPhone 5S (IOS6). So the GEapp can make a game on iPhone5S.
However, I used iOS6 at that time so I don't know it still work on iOS7 or not.
(I don't have the device run on iOS7)

You can't run iPhone5 game resolution on the iPhone4. But you can run iPhone4 game on the iPhone 5.

Hope this will help you.
User avatar
Chai
 
Posts: 361
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 2:26 pm
Location: Thailand
Score: 30 Give a positive score

Re: iPhone 5 setting resolution for iOS device.

Postby Behdadsoft » Sun Jun 15, 2014 6:05 pm

Thanks Chai. :)
There is no possible way, if we found will make a way.

http://behdadsoft.com/
*******************************************************************
My Game : Star Wars 1.0

http://behdadgame.com/index.php?topic=3.0
User avatar
Behdadsoft
 
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 9:19 pm
Score: 2 Give a positive score

Re: iPhone 5 setting resolution for iOS device.

Postby REDNSX » Thu Jul 31, 2014 10:34 pm

Chai wrote:
Behdadsoft wrote:Hi.

I have 2 question before start make game.
1- with GEapp can I make a game for iPhone 5S?
2- if I make game for iPhone 5 with this resolution (568 * 320), can run it on iPhone 4?

Thanks


As I tested I can run my game app on iPhone 5S (IOS6). So the GEapp can make a game on iPhone5S.
However, I used iOS6 at that time so I don't know it still work on iOS7 or not.
(I don't have the device run on iOS7)

You can't run iPhone5 game resolution on the iPhone4. But you can run iPhone4 game on the iPhone 5.

Hope this will help you.


I updates to the latest once again because apple required it but now the game has a Green rectangle on the top. Have you been able to update your apps in the last month or two?

I want to do a update but its not working correctly once again.
User avatar
REDNSX
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 3:03 am
Score: 7 Give a positive score

Previous

Return to iOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron