How to 'walk'

Learn how to start making games.

How to 'walk'

Postby millepix » Mon Apr 03, 2017 4:17 pm

Hello, I have no programming background. I just (yesterday) started learning C - and I have been playing around with game-editor for a while.

I am eager to get an actor (hero/main character 'person') to 'walk' though. I was wondering is there many different ways to acheive this same effect. I've come to realize in coding it's sort of like that - different ways to solve a problem.

I have gotten to the point where I have added 4 animations to an actor - stop left/walk left/stop right/walk right.

And I realize that next comes events - ie when key down (arrow left or arrow right) is pushed I would want to change the animation from stop left or right to walk left or right accordingly.

Can I do this by just assigning via buttons or do I have to use a script? (I'm not sure what a script is btw - how it aids the programming outside of the buttons I can select).

Is there a 'template' for 'walking' a character? certain simple steps to follow?

Hope this make some sense.

Thank you.
millepix

Score: 0 Give a positive score

Re: How to 'walk'

Postby juansimat » Mon Apr 03, 2017 6:38 pm

Yes, you have a lot of options.
I don't know if you are familiar with what's known as state machine. You will need to make a system using keydown events or draw actor, and script to change Animation as well as the position/velocity of the actor, do collision and that's the basic.

You can enter to your gameEditor folder, and inside the Tutorials folder you can take a look at caveman.ged to see a simple way.
Also search on the forums the different ways it can be done to animate an actor so you can learn more.
And to finish, you can find tutorials in YouTube made by our great community :P

BTW, welcome to Game Editor.
̿̿¯̿̿¯̿̿'̿̿̿̿̿̿̿'̿̿'̿̿̿̿̿'̿̿̿)͇̿̿)̿̿̿̿ '̿̿̿̿̿̿\̵͇̿̿\з=(๏̯͡๏)=ε
juansimat

Score: 27 Give a positive score

Postby millepix » Tue Apr 04, 2017 3:24 pm