AI

You must understand the Game Editor concepts, before post here.

AI

Postby FirbleMan » Mon Oct 24, 2016 10:59 pm

Hey there!
I have been using Game-Editor for a little while and I've made a few simple games. But now I'm working on an arcade style game that is more complex and my AI is terrible! I need help making Pac-man ghost type AI.
If anyone is capable of this, I would very much like your help! I included the game below. (B2 test9.zip)
Attachments
B2 test9.zip
(244.53 KiB) Downloaded 158 times
User avatar
FirbleMan
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 4:11 pm
Score: 2 Give a positive score

Re: AI

Postby Night716 » Sat Oct 29, 2016 11:24 pm

hmm.. you can try add physical response in the ia to walls and edge_ ... well, colision to that actors. is better
Night716
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 12:18 am
Score: 0 Give a positive score

Re: AI

Postby FirbleMan » Sun Oct 30, 2016 1:20 am

I tried that, he STILL left the screen/phased through inside walls!
I also don't like how he will start to turn down a path and then immediately change his mind and continue in his previous direction. It kind of breaks the flow.
User avatar
FirbleMan
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 4:11 pm
Score: 2 Give a positive score

Re: AI

Postby FirbleMan » Sun Oct 30, 2016 1:24 am

Never mind, when I add collision he never leaves the outside track. Eventually he comes to a stop.
User avatar
FirbleMan
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 4:11 pm
Score: 2 Give a positive score

Re: AI

Postby Zivouhr » Thu Nov 03, 2016 8:07 pm

For a pacman game I made, I had the ghosts in a pattern path, and depending on the location of the player, when the player collides with an invisible zone (upper right zone of maze), the enemy could be prompted to react and then start another path towards that direction.

Otherwise, you can have a move to command for the enemies, and when they hit a wall and get stuck, add a command that moves them left, right, up or down depending on the direction they need to go, just so they clear that wall and keep going.

Just some ideas, not actual coding solutions.
City of Rott Game created on Game Editor http://cityofrott.wordpress.com/
User avatar
Zivouhr
 
Posts: 549
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 2:12 pm
Score: 59 Give a positive score

Re: AI

Postby FirbleMan » Fri Oct 06, 2017 12:02 am

Thank you! That is a good idea. Unfortunately the level layout has a continuous rectangular ring all around the outside where the enemies start. He only encounters outside walls and never gets into the maze. What I'm trying to do now is make the enemy detect if he is in an intersection somehow using CollisionFree. Then randomly decide which way to go, out of the open options of the intersection. Eventually, I hope to have him make decisions based upon the player's position. This is the best I've got so far.
Attachments
EnemyTest1.zip
(323.47 KiB) Downloaded 134 times
User avatar
FirbleMan
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 4:11 pm
Score: 2 Give a positive score

Re: AI

Postby ITomi » Sat Oct 07, 2017 9:19 am

Hello FirbleMan!

I made some corrections in your program. I hope, these aren't too difficult and can help you to solve your problem.
Attachments
EnemyTest2.zip
(322.21 KiB) Downloaded 155 times
User avatar
ITomi
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 1:56 pm
Location: Hungary
Score: 5 Give a positive score

Re: AI

Postby FirbleMan » Thu Oct 12, 2017 10:45 pm

:? I have no idea what's going on! But it's Wonderful! :D Thank you so much!!
I don't think you want to explain everything, so may I just ask how I would change the speed?
User avatar
FirbleMan
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 4:11 pm
Score: 2 Give a positive score

Re: AI

Postby Kcee » Sat Oct 14, 2017 6:05 am

You can increase its velocity
Currently working on: Super Stick Brawl.
User avatar
Kcee
 
Posts: 265
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 5:40 pm
Location: Dimension GE
Score: 13 Give a positive score

Re: AI

Postby ITomi » Sat Oct 14, 2017 2:38 pm

FirbleMan wrote:how I would change the speed?


If you want to increase the speed, set the value of movingspeed variable greater than 1 in Enemy->Create Actor event, and if you want to decrease the speed, set the value of multiplier of movingspeed variable greater than 2 in the 3rd line of Enemy->Draw Actor event (e.g.: if (timer>=movingspeed*8)... ).
User avatar
ITomi
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 1:56 pm
Location: Hungary
Score: 5 Give a positive score

Re: AI

Postby FirbleMan » Mon Oct 16, 2017 6:26 pm

:D Thank you so much! That is very helpful.
User avatar
FirbleMan
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 4:11 pm
Score: 2 Give a positive score


Return to Advanced Topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron